In 2020, Roman Reigns made his return to WWE at SummerSlam after a few months of absence. Reigns then called himself The Tribal Chief.

A few weeks later, Roman Reigns became the Universal Champion by defeating The Fiend and Braun Strowman in a Triple Threat Match at Payback in 2020. Since then, no one on the WWE roster was able to defeat The Tribal Chief. After winning the Universal Title at Payback, Roman Reigns defeated Jey Uso, Braun Strowman, Kevin Owens, Daniel Bryan, Edge, Cesaro, Rey Mysterio, John Cena, Finn Balor, Brock Lesnar, Seth Rollins, Goldberg, Matt Riddle, Drew McIntyre and Logan Paul.

Today, Roman Reigns has surpassed 800 days as WWE Universal Champion. He is the first superstar in the modern era has reached this kind of milestone. Only a handful of wrestlers in WWE history have held the championship for more than two years and Reigns is one of them.

Other wrestlers who held the championship for more than two years are Bruno Sammartino, Bob Backlund, Hulk Hogan, and Pedro Morales.

Bruno Sammartino – 2,803 days
Bob Backlund – 2,135 days
Hulk Hogan – 1,474 days
Bruno Sammartino – 1,237 days
Pedro Morales – 1,027 days

Stay tuned with The Spotlight for more news.


Leave A Reply